Tom Hanks on the Power of Community Colleges

Community colleges are all over the news these days–and great things happen in them.

A New York Times op-ed piece by Tom Hanks (“Saving Private Ryan,” “John Adams,” “Philadelphia,” “Saving Mr. Banks,” and others) suggests the difference a community college can make. Check out “I Owe It All to Community College.”

Classes I took at Chabot have rippled through my professional pond. I produced the HBO mini-series ‘John Adams’ with an outline format I learned from a pipe-smoking historian, James Coovelis, whose lectures were riveting. Mary Lou Fitzgerald’s Studies in Shakespeare taught me how the five-act structures of ‘Richard III,’ ‘The Tempest’ and ‘Othello’ focused their themes.

 

Leave a Reply

