A first-gen student perspective

Although this blog post is from a Latino student at an elite liberal arts college, the reflections in it will resonate for  all those who teach first-gen students, n every kind of higher-ed institution.

 

[My parents] simply lack the academic experience necessary to engage with me about my academic life. I have to make an active effort to find the best way to navigate and exist within my home life and school life, while most students’ parents at Carleton College are behind their education every step of the way. 

Leave a Reply

